Minutes of the Argos Community Schools Regular School Board Meeting Held on January 13, 2020

The Board of School Trustees held a regular school board meeting on January 13, 2020. The following individuals were present for all or a part of the meeting.

- A. Monty Peden, Jennifer Hurford, Chris O'Dell and Jennifer Porter, Board Members
- B. Ned L. Speicher, Superintendent
- C. Jennifer Lee, Director, Business Services
- D. Patti Van Der Weele, Administrative Assistant
- E. Peyton Heckaman, RTCtv4
- F. Jack Thompson, Jerry Gates, Dale Blanch, Gene Cooper, Patrons

Board Member Absent: Angela Smith

Mr. Speicher called the meeting to order at 7:04 p.m. He called for a nomination for the position of President of the Board. Jennifer Hurford nominated Monty Peden for this position and hearing no other nominations, Chris O'Dell seconded the motion. The motion passed 3-0-1 with Monty Peden abstaining.

Board President Monty Peden then presided over the remainder of the meeting leading the Pledge of Allegiance and moment of silence.

The election of officers for the remaining Board positions were then filled. Monty Peden made a motion to elect Angela Smith as Vice President. Jennifer Hurford seconded the motion and the motion passed 4-0. Jennifer Porter made a motion to approve Jennifer Hurford as Secretary with a second by Chris O'Dell. The motion passed 4-0. Jennifer Hurford made a motion to approve Jennifer Lee as Treasurer of the Board and the School Corporation with a second by Jennifer Porter and the motion passed 4-0.

There was no communication from patrons.

Chris O'Dell made a motion to approve the minutes of the Regular Board meeting of December 16, 2019. Jennifer Hurford seconded the motion and the motion passed 4-0.

The Board reviewed meeting dates for the Regular Board meetings for the remainder of 2020. These meeting dates are posted on the Corporation's activities calendar and School Board website page. Jennifer Porter made a motion to approve 2020 meeting dates with a second by Chris O'Dell. The motion passed 4-0.

Mr. Speicher presented and reviewed NEOLA Policies & Guidelines, Volume 32, No. 1. This meeting will signify the first reading of these policies and guidelines with the second reading and approval to take place at the February meeting.

Mr. Speicher reported on the State and Federal grades received. In having this information now released he asked the Board to consider approval to issue teacher back pay, raises and new contracts. Jennifer Porter made a motion to approve with a second by Chris O'Dell. The motion passed 4-0.

The Construction Report presented by Mr. Speicher included updates on the speaker/bell system in the buildings, the guaranteed energy savings project and also pay application #3 for \$94,577.00 payable to Johnson-Melloh for the remainder of the roof replacement project. Chris O'Dell made a motion to approve pay application #3 with a second by Jennifer Porter. The motion passed 4-0.

Monty Peden recognized and thanked individuals for donations received per the attached listing. Jennifer Hurford made a motion to approve with a second by Jennifer Porter. The motion passed 4-0.

The Financial Report will be given in the Board of Finance meeting immediately following this meeting.

Jennifer Lee presented the Board with claims for the month of December totaling \$1,011,710.30. These claims included accounts payable and payroll. Chris O'Dell made a motion to approve with a second by Jennifer Porter. The motion passed 4-0.

Closing comments were heard and having no other items for discussion, Jennifer Hurford made a motion to adjourn with a second by Chris O'Dell. The motion passed 4-0 and the meeting was adjourned at 7:41 p.m.

ARGOS COMMUNITY SCHOOLS BOARD OF SCHOOL TRUSTEES

Monty Peden, President

Jennifer Hurford, Secretary

Chris O'Dell

Jennifer Porter

Board Approved Personnel Changes - January 13, 2020

- A. Employment
 - 1. Laura Jones Library Consultant
 - 2. Laura Bash Assistant Director, Spring Musical
 - 3. Statia Scaife Applied Skills Paraprofessional

B. Athletic Volunteer

1. Laura Smith

Board Approved Donations - January 13, 2020

- A. Culver Educational Foundation
- B. Argos United Methodist Church
- C. Rachelle Mabee
- D. Kelly Hoffman
- E. Dr. Tim & Londa Aldridge